23 November 2010

Pin It

Classification of Missiles – Understanding Missiles

Classification of Missiles –
Understanding Missiles

Missiles are classified on the basis of their Type, Launch Mode, Range, Propulsion, Warhead and Guidance Systems.

Mainly there are 2 types of missiles -

1. Cruise Missile

2. Ballistic Missile

Launch Mode: There are 8 types of missiles
Launch Mode can be defined as how and in which way the Missile will be fired

1. Surface-to-Surface Missile

2. Surface-to-Air Missile

3. Surface (Coast)-to-Sea Missile

4. Air-to-Air Missile

5. Air-to-Surface Missile

6. Sea-to-Sea Missile

7. Sea-to-Surface (Coast) Missile

8. Anti-Tank Missile

Range: As per Range - there are 4 types of Missiles
Range means how long missile will fly and hit the target, distance.

1. Short Range Missile

2. Medium Range Missile

3. Intermediate Range Ballistic Missile

4. Intercontinental Ballistic Missile

Propulsion: There are 6 types of Missiles as per Propulsion
Propulsion means - The act driving forward or away; the act or process of propelling; as, steam propulsion.

1. Solid Propulsion

2. Liquid Propulsion

3. Hybrid Propulsion

4. Ramjet

5. Scramjet

6. Cryogenic

In simple words Propulsion is a method propelling [ movement ] an object forward and maintaining its motion.
Here in this case it is a missile.
The word is derived from two Latin words: pro meaning before or forwards
and pellere meaning to drive.

Propulsion means to push forward or drive an object forward.
A propulsion system is a machine that produces thrust to push an object forward.
On airplanes, thrust is usually generated through some application of Newton's third law of action and reaction.
A gas, or working fluid, is accelerated by the engine, and the reaction to this acceleration produces a force on the engine.

Warhead: There are 2 types of warhead
1. Conventional
2. Strategic

warhead means - That part of a missile, projectile, torpedo, rocket, or other munition which contains either the nuclear or thermonuclear system, high explosive system, chemical or biological agents, or inert materials intended to inflict damage.
warhead - the front part of a guided missile or rocket or torpedo that carries the nuclear or explosive charge or the chemical or biological agents

Guidance Systems: As per Guidance there are 8 types

1. Wire Guidance

2. Command Guidance

3. Terrain Comparison Guidance

4. Terrestrial Guidance

5. Inertial Guidance

6. Beam Rider Guidance

7. Laser Guidance

8. RF and GPS Reference

The Guidance system is that part of a missile which decides when, and by how much, the control system must change the trajectory of the missile.

A system which evaluates flight information, correlates it with target data, determines the desired flight path of a missile, and communicates the necessary commands to the missile flight control system.

Reality views by sm -
23 November 2010

Continued -
In Next part I will explain each type in more details.