23 August 2016

Pin It

Election Commission changes rules saves BSP, NCP and CPI

Election Commission changes rules saves BSP, NCP and CPI

Election Commission of India reviewed political parties every 5 years but now EC has amended rules and it will now review national and state party status of political parties every 10 years instead of the present five.

A commission notification said while the criteria of being recognized as a national and state party will remain unchanged, the review of the status will take place every two consecutive Lok Sabha or Assembly elections instead of one.
This means the review will take place every ten years.

The commission has amended Paragraph 6C of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968 to affect the change. It was last amended in 2011.

At present, BSP, BJP, Indian National Congress, NCP, CPI and CPI-M are the six recognized political parties. Besides, there are 64 recognized state parties in India.

A political party becomes eligible to be recognized as a national party if it wins two per cent seats in the Lok Sabha from at least three different States or if it polls six per cent votes in a Lok Sabha or Assembly election in at least four States. They must also win at least four Lok Sabha seats.

In 2014 EC served notices to The BSP, CPI and NCP
All three parties were facing the prospects of losing their national party status after their dismal performance in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Because of this change now parties will not lose their status even if they do not perform well in elections.

Don’t know what EC did between 2014 to 2016 after giving notice to political parties

Reality views by sm –

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Tags – Political Parties Status 10 Year