19 April 2015

Pin It

Sitaram Yechury becomes new CPM general secretary

Sitaram Yechury becomes new CPM general secretary

CPI (M), politburo member Sitaram Yechury was on Sunday elected the new general secretary of the party on the last day of the party congress.

The decision on the new general secretary was taken by the party's Central Committee

S Ramachandran Pillai withdrew from the race.

Sitaram Yechury becomes the fifth general secretary of the party.

Outgoing general secretary Prakash Karat served three terms as the party head.

The party has never had an election for the post of general secretary who has always been picked through consensus.
The party constitution has a provision of secret ballot in case of voting.

The party's new central committee has 91 members besides five special invitees and five permanent invitees.

A new 16-member Politburo was also formed.
It includes Prakash Karat, Brinda Karat, Manik Sarkar, P Vijayan, MA Bedi, Suryakant Mishra, AK Padhmanabhan, Mohd Salim, and Sitaram Yechury.

Reality views by sm –

Sunday, April 19, 2015

Tags – CPI M Sitaram Yechury General Secretary


rudraprayaga April 20, 2015  

Let's see what he can do for his part?