21 July 2017

Pin It

Facts Short Biography of all 14 Presidents of India from 1950 to 2017

Facts Short Biography of all 14 Presidents of India from 1950 to 2017

Below is the short biography of all Presidents of India
Below is the list names of all Presidents of India with short biography

Dr Rajendra Prasad -
India's 1st President
Party – Congress
Term at Office: January 1950 to May 1962
Born in 1884; died in 1963

Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
India's 2nd President
Term at Office: May 1962 to May 1967
Born in 1888; died in 1975
His birthday, September 5th is celebrated as Teachers Day in India even today.

Dr Zakir Hussain
India's 3rd President
Term at Office: May 1967 to May 1969
Born in 1897; died in 1969
He passed away during the middle of his term. He became the first president to die in office

Varahagiri Venkata Giri was elected Vice President of India in 1967.
Following the death of President Zakir Hussain, Varahagiri Venkata Giri was appointed as Acting President. To take part in president Elections he resigned.

Mohammad Hidayatullah served as the Chief Justice of India, and was also a recipient of the Order of the British Empire.
He served as Acting President until the election of Giri as the President of India.

Varahagiri Venkata Giri or V V Giri
India's 4th President
Term at Office: May 1969 to August 1974
Born in 1894; died in 1980
He completed his full term.

Dr Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
India's 5th President
Term at Office: August 1974 to February 1977
Born in 1905; died in 1977
India's second Muslim president, he has actively participated in India's freedom struggle
Prime Minister Indira Gandhi selected Ali Ahmed for the president's role.
He was the second President to die in office before his term
He was also president during Emergency
His grave lies right across the Parliament of India next to the Sunhari Masjid, at Sansad Chowk, in New Delhi.

Basappa Danappa Jatti was the vice president of India during Ahmed's term of office, and was sworn in as Acting President upon Ahmed's death. He earlier functioned as the Chief Minister for the State of Mysore

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
Janata Party
India's 6th President
Term at Office: July 1977 to July 1982
Born in 1913; died in 1996
N.S. Reddy was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh State.
Reddy was the only Member of Parliament from the Janata Party to get elected from Andhra Pradesh.He was unanimously elected Speaker of the Lok Sabha on 26 March 1977 and relinquished this office on 13 July 1977 to become the 6th President of India.

Giani Zail Singh
India's 7th President
Term at Office: July 1982 to July 1987
Born in 1916; died in 1994
In March 1972, Singh assumed the position of chief Minister of Punjab, and in 1980, he became Union Home Minister. He was also secretary general to Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) from 1983 to 1986.
During the Presidency of Giani Zail Singh most historical Political events happened namely
1-Operation Blue Star;
2-Assasination of PM Indira Gandhi
3-1984 Sikh riots all took place during his Presidency tenure.
He appointed Rajiv Gandhi as the Prime Minister of India.
Zail Singh died at the age of 78 in a car accident in Chandigarh.

Ramaswamy Venkataraman or R Venkataraman
Freedom Fighter
India's 8th President
Term at Office: July 1987 to July 1992
Born in 1910; died in 2009
In 1942, Venkataraman was jailed by the British for his involvement in the Indian independence movement.
After his release, he was elected to independent India’s Provisional Parliament as a member of the Congress Party in 1950 and eventually joined the central government, where he first served as Minister of Finance and Industry and later as Minister of Defence.
He became India's eighth president after working as a Vice President before that.
He died at the age of 98 due to multiple organ failures.

Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma
India's 9th President
Term at office: July 1992 to July 1997
Born in 1918; died in 1999
Sharma was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, and the Indian Minister for Communications. He has also served as the governor of Andhra Pradesh, Punjab and Maharashtra.
Shankar Dayal Sharma has first served as Vice President under R Venkataraman as President. After R Venkataraman's term, Sharma became the ninth President of India.

Kocheril Raman Narayanan in short K R Narayanan
India's 10th President
Term at office: July 1997 to July 2002
Born in 1920; died in 2005
Narayanan served as India's ambassador to Thailand, Turkey, China and United States of America. He received doctorates in Science and Law and was also a chancellor in several universities. He was also the vice-chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University.
He was the first President from Kerala, and the first Dalit President.
He has also served as a Minister in Rajiv Gandhi's Cabinet

Dr APJ Abdul Kalam
India's 11th President
President: July 2002 to July 2007
Born in 1931; Died on July 27, 2015
His birthday is observed as World Students Day by the UN.
Dr Kalam, died on July 27, 2015 in Shillong
He was the first bachelor president of India, and the first Muslim President who completed his term. Kalam died following a heart attack while delivering a speech in Shillong.

Pratibha Devisingh Patil
India's 12th President
President: July 2007 to July 2012
Born in 1934 –
Pratibha Patil was India's first woman president after she defeated Bhairon Singh Shekhawat to suceed Abdul Kalam.
She was also the first female Governor of Rajasthan

Dr Pranab Mukherjee
India's 13th President
President: July 2012 to July 23, 2017
Born in 1935
Dr Pranab Mukherjee was the 13th President of India and the first Bengali President to hold the post.  He defeated rival P.A. Sangma.
Pranab Mukherjee held various posts in the cabinet ministry for the Government of India such as Finance Minister, Foreign Minister, Defence Minister and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission.

Ram Nath Kovind
India's 14th President
Term Tenure - July 24th, 2017 onwards
President: Elected July 20, 2017
Born in 1945
Kovind was Governor of Bihar from 2015 until 2017 and a Member of Parliament from 1994 until 2006. He will be the second Dalit president after K.R. Narayanan.
Active member of RSS from youth
He is the second Dalit leader after RK Narayan to hold the ceremonial post
The 71-year-old Kovind defeated joint opposition candidate Meira Kumar, a former Lok Sabha speaker, after garnering 65.65 per cent of the votes in the electoral college.

Kovind vote share is the lowest since 1974, figures reveal.

Kovind received 2930 votes with a value of 7,02,044, while his rival Meira Kumar, the joint opposition candidate, secured got 1844 votes with a value of 3,67,314.
This comes to a vote share of 65.65 per cent for the President-elect.
However, the victory margin is the lowest since the 1974 presidential poll.

With How much vote share in past Presidents Won –
1957 - Rajendra Prasad got 98.99%
1962 - Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan got 98.24%
1969 - V V Girri got 48% votes
1974- Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed bagged 56.23% votes
1977 - Only Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy, in 1977, was elected unopposed
1982 - Gyani Zail Singh got 72.73% votes
1987 - R Venkatraman bagged 72.28%
1992 - Shankar Dayal Sharma (1992) got 65.87%
1997 - K R Narayanan got 94.97% votes
2002 - A P J Abdul Kalam got 89.57%
2007 - Pratibha Patil got 65.82% of the total votes
2012 - Pranab Mukherjee secured 69.31% votes

Reality views by sm –

Friday, July 21, 2017

Tags – List Names Facts History Biography Autobiography Indian Presidents